Builder's Spotlight The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight


Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-12-2017, 06:36 PM
kohlboto's Avatar
kohlboto kohlboto is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Vernon, BC
Posts: 1,182
Shimano hydraulic brake swap/installation-type question...

Okay, so, I'm going to be switching my Parlee Chebacco from Mechanical/Hydraulic to di2/Hydraulic. The internal di2 wiring looks pretty straight forward and I think the brakes shouldn't be a problem. But, I'm wondering...can I can keep all the brake housing on the frame (and connected to the calipers) and simply swap out the levers? It looks like I just have to uncouple the housing from the mechanical shifters and swap them over to the di2 shifters. Am I correct in this assumption?
Obviously, I'd have to deal with the mineral oil and bleed the brakes again but it seems suspiciously straightforward to me.
Anything else I should take into consideration before attempting this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-12-2017, 06:55 PM
Ronsonic Ronsonic is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 537
I have no experience with road hydro, but that's how it works with mountain bikes. And with a bit of deftness and luck you don't need to do more than "burp" them. I would certainly give it a good eyeball and try it unless I saw something obviously prohibiting it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-12-2017, 07:20 PM
yashcha yashcha is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Beijing/Boston/Dulles
Posts: 701
I have to do the same thing since I am switching to flat mount brakes. Do the metal ends (olives?) need to be replaced? This is the first bike I have owned with Hydro.
__________________
TrekCrockett.ZankCX.RD
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-12-2017, 09:19 PM
cogclog cogclog is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Toronto, On., Canada
Posts: 192
Shimano hydraulic brake swap/installation-type question...

Quote:
Originally Posted by yashcha View Post
I have to do the same thing since I am switching to flat mount brakes. Do the metal ends (olives?) need to be replaced? This is the first bike I have owned with Hydro.


Olives do not need to be replaced unless you need a different fitting to attach the hose to the caliper.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-12-2017, 09:38 PM
yashcha yashcha is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Beijing/Boston/Dulles
Posts: 701
Quote:
Originally Posted by cogclog View Post
Olives do not need to be replaced unless you need a different fitting to attach the hose to the caliper.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Thank you!
__________________
TrekCrockett.ZankCX.RD
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-13-2017, 07:50 AM
DRZRM's Avatar
DRZRM DRZRM is offline
'97 Ti Legend
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: State College, PA
Posts: 3,898
I do have a personal interest in this so confirm what I say. Also, I've never set up anything electronic but I have installed and switched disc brakes on both road and MTBs and I assume this should hold true (I once accidentally bought moto/UK setup MTB levers, and switching them was easy with no need for changes). My understanding of the disc end of the levers, you should be able to carefully pop out the connection at the lever end, reinstall without changing olive or barb or making any adjustment to the cables or brakes, and be good to go.

Does this impact our business?
__________________
Friends don't let friends ride junk!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-13-2017, 12:06 PM
zank's Avatar
zank zank is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sutton, MA
Posts: 1,673
If you are going from RS685 levers to R785 levers, you should be fine. If you are going from RS685 levers to R9170 or R8070, you should change the hose to BH90.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.