Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 07-14-2016, 02:31 PM
Administrator

Diagnosed with shingles today -- riding okay?

With all the stuff that has been going on in our family's life, I guess the stress has caught up with me and I've come down with the shingles. I caught this pretty early -- and even correctly diagnosed this myself (I'm an engineer and not a doctor). Thankfully, my symptoms are pretty mild right now with the rash on my abdomen, side and back. I'm having a prescription filled for an antiviral and steroid, and will be starting these soon.

Assuming I don't have the debilitating pain or flu like symptoms that can accompany this disease, is it ok to continue riding or any other type of exercise? Is there anything I should do to cover the rash while riding?

I would appreciate any helpful tips or information you guys/gals have.
Old 07-14-2016, 02:36 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Keith A View Post
With all the stuff that has been going on in our family's life, I guess the stress has caught up with me and I've come down with the shingles. I caught this pretty early -- and even correctly diagnosed this myself (I'm an engineer and not a doctor). Thankfully, my symptoms are pretty mild right now with the rash on my abdomen, side and back. I'm having a prescription filled for an antiviral and steroid, and will be starting these soon.

Assuming I don't have the debilitating pain or flu like symptoms that can accompany this disease, is it ok to continue riding or any other type of exercise? Is there anything I should do to cover the rash while riding?

Had shingles myself when I was younger. I would take it easy for a bit. If you are going to ride then take it slow as from what I recall, sweat made my rash spread. It sounds like you are on top of it with the medication, but I'd take a week or so off just to be safe. Good luck and get well.
Old 07-14-2016, 02:44 PM