Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 03-06-2017, 04:08 PM

Road/Gravel Frames with Short Reach

After wrecking my right elbow in 2015 and months of surgeries and therapy I started riding again in early 2016 with reduced reach in my right arm. I never could get a workable position on my road bikes a Look 585 Medium being the favorite. It has a reach of about 384 and stack of about 545 and was at the upper end for comfortable reach before my injury. I bought a Black Mountain Cycles Monster Cross last year and played with stems and spacers and such trying to find a workable position for longer rides. A couple of weeks ago I made an appointment with an LBS using a Guru fit cycle and worked on refining my position.

I knew it and riding friends and my wife had pointed out that I would drop my right shoulder and let it creep forward as a ride progressed. The fit cycle helped pinpoint just when and where that happens. And the fitter also observed something I hadn't been aware of that my right hip would get out of alignment once the shoulder moved enough and contribute to more discomfort.

The apparent solution as I've made more changes on the BMC frame and ridden a bit is really short reach for the tops and less handlebar to saddle drop. The reach is a bigger factor than drop, at least relative to my expectations.

With the background out of the way, I'm not finding too many frames available with a reach around 365 and a stack of 550 or so. A Cervelo C3/C5 size 51 looks perfect on those dimensions but they aren't too common in the wild yet. Lynskey Sportive, Litespeed T5g, and Niner RLT family are others I've found online. I'd like to find something cheapish or used to experiment with anyway and the big brands all seem to size just a bit long. Any other companies I should be checking out? Steel would be great but anything goes and I'm content with either rim or disc brakes. Thanks for any feedback.