Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 08-30-2017, 12:19 PM

Northwestern University Cycling Team

I just learned that my alma mater has a cycling team. My first thought was "How can they train in that nasty climate?" Then I realized that the weather in Belgium is pretty nasty too and some decent riders have developed there.

I graduated in 1965 and I can only remember ONE guy who rode a bicycle. There were about 5 of us on motorcycles. My last visit to campus was Spring 2008 and there were LOTS of crummy "beach cruisers" fastened in racks by locks and RUST. Apparently the owners had parked them at the first snowfall and left them sit for months. I don't remember any options for indoor bike storage in my day.

I found a few cool pix of current inter-collegiate races with team kit from Michigan, Indiana, etc.
Old 08-30-2017, 12:44 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Robb View Post
"How can they train in that nasty climate?"
I assume you are referring to July and August which are usually unbearable (not this year, it has been one of the best summers in 20 years)?
Old 08-30-2017, 12:48 PM

Collegiate cycling is awesome! Maybe there's a connection to the depletion of pro racing- college sports are all over TV, how about college bike racing?
Old 08-30-2017, 12:49 PM
Classics Fan

If it is anything like the Dartmouth College cycling team, they train like fiends on indoor trainers during the winter. I am on their email distribution list, and every day, it is some discussion of who's going to bring the trainers to somewhere, and when they're all going to meet.

Such is life in the cold North.
Old 08-30-2017, 01:25 PM

What's indoor training? This photo of me (a collegiate cyclist) braving the harsh winter weather of Santa Barbara was taken in February.

Old 08-30-2017, 01:43 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by alioup101 View Post