Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 08-22-2017, 07:10 PM

OT - Career Change

Hi everyone,

I'm an occasional poster, almost daily reader/lurker. I'm considering a career change and thought I'd throw this out here on the forum. There are many smart people and accomplished professionals here, maybe some of you will have some insight.

Basically I'm considering a career change that is in actuality a career beginning. I'm growing up finally and want a substantial career. Primarily for the income, but also for the lifestyle benefits, growth opportunities, sense of fulfillment(?). I have a degree in English Lit. that is 12 years old at this point. I have worked for most of my adult life here in the Bay Area for a natural foods distributor as a route driver and merchandiser. I took a few years away from that company to work as a bike mechanic, which was great but left me more broke than when I started.

So here I am. I'm married, my wife wants to move and buy a house someday, have kids someday. And I want those things too. So... some folks have suggested to me accounting as a career change. It seems doable and in demand and reasonably well compensating. And there are online schools I can get degrees in, from certificates on up.

So, any personal experience on the forum with accounting, online schools, or career changes in general?
Old 08-22-2017, 07:20 PM

i'd do a search first- this is a frequent (every other month or so) query around here...
Old 08-22-2017, 07:33 PM

Fair enough. Will do.
Old 08-22-2017, 07:40 PM

I did a similar thing. Now 40, I just started a new career. I had a dead end job that was decent pay but terribly boring. It did however support my race habit and allowed time for international racing for a few years when I got to that level.