Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 08-23-2016, 05:49 PM

OT: Double edge razor or cartridge style

With the price of cartridge these days I am thinking about going to a double edge razor. I shave every other day and have heavy thick whiskers.
Is a double edge worth trying? Is the shave better or closer?
I go through 2 cartridges a week so just weighing my options.
I would like to hear some opinions on the double edge razors.
Old 08-23-2016, 05:58 PM

Yes!

Buy a safety razor.

Read this - http://www.shaving101.com/index.php/...ty-razors.html

I've been using one for 20 years now.

A bit of trial and error but lots of good info out there.

This is what I meant to link to - http://www.shaving101.com/index.php/...et-shaver.html

Last edited by charliedid; 08-23-2016 at 06:01 PM.
Old 08-23-2016, 06:02 PM
'97 Ti Legend

Single bladed wet shaving leaves me with far fewer razor bumps. Maybe a marginally less close shave, but I can't tell. Far less redness and irritation. Who needs five blades.
Old 08-23-2016, 06:19 PM

I switched a few years ago to double edged blades because I'm cheap. I ended up buying the variety pack of blades on Amazon since blade selection seems so personal. The blades that seem to be most highly recommended (Feather, Merkur etc.) didn't work so well for me and I settled on Gillette Silver Blue blades which is good because I got 100 of them for $14.
Techniques is important, to begin with I looked like I'd been caressed by Freddy Kruger but now I probably loose way less than a pint of blood per week.
I reckon by retirement I'll have saved around $2,987,000 compared to the price of the 5 bladed Gillette wonder cartridges with vibrating lubricating strips, adjusted for inflation or the cost of a pair of Lightweight wheels.
Old 08-23-2016, 06:34 PM
Epic=No Smiles