Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 10-18-2014, 10:36 AM

How does a colnago master descend

I'm looking at getting a master. I usually ride a 57-59 top tube on most bikes I've had so pretty big bikes. I have had a lot of problems with bikes being too whippy while descending. I've got speed wobbles on a few of those bikes and I live in a really hilly area where I can get up to 50 mph probably once a week.

So for those of you who have had master's did they feel stiff or did you have problems with speed wobbles.

Btw currently riding a peg love #3
Old 10-18-2014, 11:20 AM

Anyone have any scary wobbles on a colnago or have it been solid
Old 10-18-2014, 11:29 AM

May have a bit more to do with weight, yours. I have a Master X Light, size 56. When I was at my (so called) fighting weight, 170-ish, no wobble whatsoever, but at my heaviest, 225-ish, and living in a very hilly area, no hands at 50 mph, yeah some very slight wobble, but gone when I was on the hoods, tops, drops. Back under 200 and no wobble. Not sure on a 57 59, although with those longer pipes......... Fwiw the Colnago is one of my favorite bikes, still in regular rotation.

Last edited by binxnyrwarrsoul; 10-19-2014 at 03:36 AM.
Old 10-18-2014, 11:31 AM

I have a late 90's Colnago Master. It descends and handles just fine. I've never experienced a speed wobble on it. Of, course I'm old and slow.
Old 10-18-2014, 11:33 AM
Member?

I am at the opposite end of the spectrum - 140 lbs and 49cm Master Piu. Rock solid descender. However I keep my hands on the bars at 50 mph!
Old 10-18-2014, 11:38 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vientomas View Post
I am at the opposite end of the spectrum - 140 lbs and 49cm Master Piu. Rock solid descender. However I keep my hands on the bars at 50 mph!
Same here, had them off for maybe 2 seconds. I'm fearless on descents, not insane.
Old 10-18-2014, 11:39 AM