Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 06-18-2017, 08:35 AM

Bike builder spec question and what would you do?

Would like to make a serious try at making a commuter/gravel/allroad big tire drop bar type bike before fall. So I removed the sliding dropout off the civia frame. Living here in the oil patch, there are a ton of machinists around, and as suggested here on the forum, I thought of having one make me a new dropout with a derailleur hanger so I can finally build this bike with gearing.

I have so many questions about this build and have no idea what I am doing. I am a total noobie with this type of bike. For example, I want disc brakes, but do I need a thru axle dropout for that? The other side is also a sliding dropout and has the pins for disc brake, but previous setup only had front disc and no rear brake, yet was a standard quick release. I would like to use some parts I already have for a lot of this build. But disc and drop bar will require a new and I'm guessing sram group.

Do I want/need a dynamo front hub for commuting?

Should I just keep the dropouts it has and try for a internal geared rear hub?

Gates worth a try?

Give up and just buy a decent allroad here off the forum?

My question regarding the dropout is, what are the dimensions of the hanger? Is there a standard that shows the threading size and the position of a standard hanger? Would like to retain the fender mount as well.

Is there a little blueprint available, by chance?

Old 06-19-2017, 06:43 AM

If it was mine, I'd try IGH/Dynamo. Maybe gates if you want to pay to get the stay split, but a full chain case would be cheaper. A weatherproof bike sounds nice.

You don't need thru axle for disc, despite what the marketing might say!
Old 06-19-2017, 06:53 AM
Administrator

problem solvers, and others do make a track end RD hanger....

http://problemsolversbike.com/produc...hanger_-_27547

Old 06-19-2017, 08:38 AM