Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 05-22-2016, 07:55 AM
sippin'

OT: leadership/work trip for my 17yo

So as every parent of a teenager has most likely experienced, mine has now decided to shut down, lie, cheat, and just become down right mean. His grades are good, holds down a part time server job, and has always been a good kid.
I'm a psych nurse and have extensive experience working with kids, but when it comes to my own

My wife and I are exploring leadership or mission trips for him to see the "real" world and get his hands dirty helping to improve or rebuild a community etc in a lower socioeconomic class in hopes that a little culture and hard work will improve his attitude. Not looking for a boot camp (not yet anyway) and doesnt matter if its affiliated with a religious entity or not.

Anyone have suggestions and/or success stories? Thanks for reading!

Last edited by indyrider; 05-22-2016 at 08:03 AM.
Old 05-22-2016, 08:28 AM

what else have you tried?

got no experience myself, but sometimes having one, two, or all in a room together with a trained psychologist can make a difference. Sending him off to camp sounds like "sweeping the problem out the door" maybe.
Old 05-22-2016, 08:36 AM

My daughter, 15, is still thankfully a good kids and I think for the most part truthful with us. She does however have confidence issues and tends to linger in the shadows and not participate unless forced. Teachers have all loved her and she makes straight As, but most have commented on how she keeps a low profile.

She is doing a NOLS course this summer for two weeks. It was her own idea after a trip last year she and I took to yellowstone and a photographer she met was telling her about doing it when he was young. We are hopeful it will inspire her and bring her out of her shell a little. If not, well hey I'm still thankful for what I've got. Anyway that may be something you want to consider