Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 08-10-2017, 03:22 PM
AZ Slowpoke

First Carbon Bike

Up until this point I have been on steel and aluminum bikes. Now, I'm just beginning the thought processes of getting my first carbon bike. I'm going to set the budget at a measly $3000. I would like to have at a minimum 6800 Ultegra, though to be honest I have nothing against the 11-speed 105. I would like to have 50mm deep section wheels that are tubeless capable. I like an "aggressive" "race" geometry for this kind of ride and I'd like it to be an "aero race" bike.

I think most of my miles will still be on my old reliable Giant TCR on Ksyrium Elite wheels that has proven itself to be pretty bulletproof. This bike will be for my "races", which are the occasional century, metric, etc., and for some Merckx style TTs that I like doing. It'll probably also find it's way into my faster group rides.

The offering that I've found that my mind keeps going back to is the Giant Propel Advanced 1.

Which seems to check all of the right boxes and is very close to the desired price point.

Does anyone have some suggestions that maybe I haven't considered?
Old 08-10-2017, 03:32 PM

Propel

Propel brakes are awful if that matters.
Old 08-10-2017, 03:42 PM
AZ Slowpoke

Quote:
Originally Posted by John H. View Post
Propel brakes are awful if that matters.
How so?
Old 08-10-2017, 03:56 PM

I'd be much more inclined to go with one of their road Advanced models. I don't know anything about those brakes, but the cable routing is wonky. For my money I'd go with one with traditional caliper brakes.

That said, Giant is good bike. I own one and am generally quite pleased with it.

As to the premise of the thread, carbon is a great material for a bike frame.
Old 08-10-2017, 04:07 PM