Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 09-15-2015, 10:01 AM

Laser eye surgery

Any success stories, cautionary tales, recommendations as to yea or nay?
Old 09-15-2015, 10:03 AM
Whale of a

Yes

I had mine 12 years ago and no issues and my vision is still perfect.
Old 09-15-2015, 10:04 AM

My wife had it done last year. She's loving not wearing contacts anymore.
Old 09-15-2015, 10:08 AM

Subscribing. I've been wearing contacts for 17 years now and I'm ready to be done with them.
Old 09-15-2015, 10:10 AM

I did it 2 years ago, never look back, its the best. no more contacts on camping trips, no more foggy glasses on cold mornings.
Old 09-15-2015, 10:13 AM

Had PRK surgery right before Thanksgiving last year. Definitely painful and healing took longer than I expected, but worth it as I now have 20/15 vision.
Old 09-15-2015, 10:15 AM
Boeuf Chaîne

It depends on the type of problems you have with your eyes and the degree of correction required. The less they have to do the more likely you'll have a positive result. I'm massively nearsighted and the odds are non-trivial that I'd probably still have to wear glasses after the surgery, so I haven't bothered to take the chance.

Caveat: I'm not an ophthalmologist, and the statement above is my layman's interpretation of what my ophthalmologist (who does lots of these surgeries in St Louis) has told me.

Last edited by Louis; 09-15-2015 at 10:26 AM. Reason: typo
Old 09-15-2015, 10:22 AM

I haven't had it done but have looked into it for years. I'm very nearsighted (-9.0 Left, -8.0 right) and have worn glasses since I was in 3rd grade.

From what I've researched, success depends on how poor your vision is to start with, level of astigmatism, eye dryness and cornea thickness. Your risk of side effects (halo-ing, poor night vision) is affected by those factors.