Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 05-21-2024, 12:28 PM

Fizik Adaptive Saddle Feedback?

I've been riding a Fizik Antares for 7+ years it's starting to get creaky so I'm considering upgrading to one of the new Antares Adaptive models.

While overall feedback look great, I've seen comments that the 3D printed saddles are very grippy and can cause friction on bib shorts thus wearing down the fabric quickly.

Since quality bib shorts are a pricey piece of kit to replace, can someone chime in if they've experienced these issues?
Old 05-21-2024, 01:10 PM

Long Time Fizik

Long time Fizik fan. Kurve Chameleon has always been one of my favorites. Saddle fit is such a personal thing. I rode the Antares Adaptive 0 as my first foray into the world of 3D saddles. Found it comfortable, but had an issue with the durability. The 3D 'web' tore in the area where my left sit bone rode on it. Fizik did replace the saddle no questions, well done!! I have since moved the S-Works Mirror saddle. Find them to be more comfortable, for my anatomy. Not sure if any of this is helpful, but I'm sold on 3D saddles.
Old 05-21-2024, 01:20 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by simpsonn View Post
I've been riding a Fizik Antares for 7+ years it's starting to get creaky so I'm considering upgrading to one of the new Antares Adaptive models.

While overall feedback look great, I've seen comments that the 3D printed saddles are very grippy and can cause friction on bib shorts thus wearing down the fabric quickly.

Since quality bib shorts are a pricey piece of kit to replace, can someone chime in if they've experienced these issues?
The saddles are super comfortable, and I don’t wear shorts out on them. I like the fact that the saddle covers don’t wear when riding in wet weather, and I can hose them off. But at least the Fizik saddles haven’t proved durable.